Well-Being Guide

The Seven Chakras

The Seven Chakras

The first writings about the chakras can be dated back to approximately 1000 B.C. Although their origins are firmly based in Hinduism, the concepts of chakras and energy centres are also fundamental to the Ayurvedic concepts of prana and the Chinese practice of qi.

The word chakra derives from the Sanskrit word meaning wheel/circle or turning. The basic human chakra system (as is commonly accepted) consists of seven main chakras (and 21 lesser chakras) each possessing its own colour and perpetually spinning at its own rate of vibrational frequency within what is called the subtle body – stretching from the base of the astral spine to the crown of the head and tied directly to a specific region and nerve centre of the body.

Each of the chakras acts as a catalyst of consciousness, governing various emotional issues – from our survival instincts and self-esteem to our ability to communicate and experience love – and representing a spiritual life lesson or challenge, to help us gain a more in-depth understanding of our personal and spiritual power.

It is believed that each of the chakras absorbs and filters the energy we personally emit through our thoughts and actions as well as the thoughts and actions of all those that we come into contact with.

When the chakras are in balance, the body, both physically and energetically, is in balance however, if one chakra is blocked or open too much, then the individual may experience frustration, ill health and destructive thoughts as well as learning, concentration and memory problems, physical illnesses, chronic disorders, aches and pains and depression.

Balancing the chakras removes stale energy from the body, releasing tightness, stiffness or any malfunction to the same physical area at the same time bringing balance to our emotional state of mind.

Through meditation we can learn to detect the way the chakra’s energy moves through our body, thus we can learn to align them, matching our inner frequency to the outer frequency of the greater cosmos.The more we match our frequency, the more we resonate. The more we resonate, the healthier we feel.

Author Info


No Comments

Post a Comment